Homonymous

Boor, boar, bore, and Boer are homonyms that, granting some broad context, can be synonyms. Boer never occurred to me until now. How many of Saturn’s moons can you name?

HR Melvin

4 responses to “Homonymous

  1. I can find no justification for pronouncing “boor” in the manner of the other three–the “ooooh” is standard; you overextend yourself.

    In addition, a boar seems to me, by definition, to be wild. If wild, how could it qualify as a member of a Dutch-Afrikan ethnic group? If tame, it is a boring Boer pig.

    I’m going to say Io… and Ganymede. One would need to hit on the theme, no? But, in not dishonestly looking them up, I credit myself for my academic honesty.

  2. Mimas, Titan, Dione. Hyperion, of course.

    Too obscure?

  3. I used to pronounce “boor” like “door” until I was schooled otherwise. These days, I see plenty of both, but I say them differently. And mostly to myself.

  4. Europa, I think. And I think Ganymede is Jupiter’s boy.

Leave a comment