NL Bruce Chen

I liked calling the division that back in 2001, when the one-time #4 overall prospect for Baseball America was on his third NL East team at the age of 24. Then he went to the Expos the next year, as if pre-ordained. Sadly, he hasn’t made it to the Marlins yet, although he’s worn 5 other major league uniforms, 12 minor league uniforms, and is in the Royals camp this year. Aside from accidentally going 13-10 for the Orioles in 2005 (since he went 2-1 the year before and 0-7 the year after) Mr. Chen never won more than 4 games for any single team in a single season. Fellow tolerable lefty Dennis Cook managed to win 4 in April, 1999 (I remembered this as a 5-0 start, but #5 came on May 2.)

 

And he still wound up with a career record of 35-37 with no saves. I could say “and counting,” but I’m hoping that even the Royals have standards. So I put it to fellow arbiters to locate a career of comparable length and non-performance.

 

vnueva

Leave a comment